Productivity and Me, Happily Ever After

I think I finally found "the one"

Hey there! Welcome to Part-Time Writing. If you're interested in learning about writing, life, coffee, and other interesting topics, subscribe below:

Also, feel free to check out my other posts and follow me on Twitter too šŸ˜Ž.

Finding the perfect productivity system is like finding the love of your life.

productivity-system

At first, youā€™re kind of clueless and donā€™t know what youā€™re looking for. You test the waters to see whatā€™s out there, deflowering every productivity tool you can get your hands on.

After a while, you start to learn what you like. You lean into that. But thereā€™s still so much to explore. You fall in love with one, the honeymoon phase ends, then youā€™re back on the App Store swiping to find the next.

If youā€™re like me, you might spend years (or more than a decade) trying to find ā€œthe oneā€. Family and friends start to get concerned. They begin telling you things like, ā€œStop being so picky and just settle down!ā€

But you know what? Screw them. Because I think Iā€™ve finally done it. I found her. I finally found the one.

Sheā€™s been around every day of my life for the past year. You might not think thatā€™s very impressive, but itā€™s literally 6x longer than my previous record. For the first time maybe ever, Iā€™ve stopped wondering if the grass is greener on the other side.

My productivity system completes me. She makes me a better person. And thatā€™s why Iā€™m here today to tell you all about her.

Who knows, maybe this might help you find your own ā€œhappily ever after.ā€

What Makes a Productivity System a "Catch"

The good thing about dating around so much in my twenties was that I slowly learned what I valued in a productivity system. Turns out, Iā€™m pretty picky.

But my system checks all the right boxes.

  1. Simplicity. This is most important to me. Iā€™m a one-woman kind of guy. If I have to juggle too many tools to do my work, I get overwhelmed and call it quits.

  2. Ease of access. I must confess Iā€™m a somewhat needy man. She must be available to me at all times of the day, at any location (at my desktop, on my laptop, on the couch, during a walk, while in the shower, etc).

  3. Low maintenance. I donā€™t like to pay high recurring fees (I prefer none, actually). And I donā€™t want to spend more than a few minutes each day updating it. If itā€™s too much to manage, itā€™s only a matter of time before I re-download the app store and start swiping right and left again.

  4. Flexibility. Iā€™m a full-time engineer who enjoys writing on the side. I also have a family, friends, hobbies, and a home to clean. A true catch is a one-stop-shop for managing all facets of my life while staying true to the other 3 traits above.

  5. Adds value. Overall, I need someone who adds to my life more than they subtract.

Maybe I am a bit picky, but I say Iā€™m just a man who knows what he wants.

Now, here are the deets on why sheā€™s so great:

1. We Share the Same Long-Term Goals, and Theyā€™re Written Down on a Whiteboard

My long-term goals are super important to me. Without them, I feel like a lost puppy (and I get pretty anxious, too). I need them so that my life has purpose and direction.

For this reason, I write all of my most valued long-term goals down on a whiteboard that hangs on the Camelot-colored wall in my office.

whiteboard-long-term-goals

Photo by me :)

Theyā€™re not anything crazy, but they steer my ship in the right direction.

Once upon a time, I had a whiteboard goal to ā€œmake my net worth positiveā€. That year, I worked on things to eliminate my debt and improve my finances. After I achieved that, I wanted to hit a quarter of a million in net worth. And so I made that my focus. Now, I want to retire by age 45.

Will it happen? Maybe, but it definitely wonā€™t if I donā€™t write it down.

Every January, I revisit my long-term goals and adjust accordingly. Keeping them on a giant whiteboard in my office makes it so that theyā€™re always visible and somewhere on my mind.

Before moving on, I do have a quick confession. Iā€™ve actually been using a whiteboard like this for over 3 years. Itā€™s the one piece of my past productivity systems that I still use exactly the same way. Itā€™s been that great for me.

2. We Both Trust Notion to Handle Pretty Much Everything for Weekly/Daily Tracking

The whiteboard is the cornerstone of my productivity system, but itā€™s really just a short, bulleted list that doesnā€™t change for an entire year.

I need something more robust that can manage the day-to-day.

Notion is what Iā€™ve been using for this. After trying every other system out there, this one had just the right amount of customizability and simplicity. If Iā€™m being honest, now that Iā€™ve found the format I like, it probably doesnā€™t matter what app I use, as long as I can recreate the meat of my planning.

After much trial and error, I settled on weekly planning with each day broken down into a handful of tasks. I tried the whole quarterly and monthly goal-tracking thing, but I was never very good at it and didnā€™t really care to do major ā€œreviewsā€ that often. So, I said screw it.

Hereā€™s what the format looks like at a glance:

weekly-planning

Screenshot of my own desktop

The template came from Nat Eliason, who is apparently one of the guys I trust the most with my productivity dating life. If youā€™ve ever seen the movie Hitch, heā€™s my Will Smith.

I took his template, which had a few extra segments than the one above, and used that for a while. But I eventually gutted it down to the only three sections I consistently kept up with.

They are:

i) Priority 1, 2, 3

This is where I prioritize my tasks for each week.

  • Priority 1ā€™s are absolutely must-doā€™s

  • Priority 2ā€™s are probably should-doā€™s but not as important as Priority 1's

  • Priority 3ā€™s are nice-to-doā€™s (but usually just sit on my radar for a while)

This portion is also the bridge between my whiteboard goals and the actions I need to take to accomplish them.

For example, one of my whiteboard goals is to drastically improve my VO2 Max. To do that, one of my Priority 1ā€™s is to finish all of my planned workouts. In fact, itā€™s my first Priority 1 each week, every week, because health and fitness are super important to me.

That doesnā€™t mean all of my Priority 1ā€™s are whiteboard goals. Many, yes. But certainly not all. Because I work a full-time job, I often have deadlines to meet that require the bulk of my attention. These are obvious Priority 1ā€™s.

Priority 2 and 3 items end up being things like non-urgent work tasks, laundry, paying bills, scheduling landscapers, and miscellaneous actions for my website, Twitter, etc.

If I ever get stuck (which happens more than youā€™d think), I simply turn around and look at my whiteboard goals. This almost always recalibrates me.

ii) The Week Ahead

Hereā€™s where the bulk of the work happens.

Each week, I break down my 5 working days into daily tasks. Each task is actionable, concise, and generally takes somewhere between 5 minutes to 2 hours to complete. If an item takes longer than that, Iā€™ll break it down into smaller segments.

I try to stick to 4ā€“6 main things to do each day, where 1 or 2 are major tasks, and the others are minor. Any more than that and Iā€™m only kidding myself.

Major tasks include things like engineering work for the day, writing, and intense workouts.

Minor things include updating my weekly plan, taking out the trash, publishing a tweet, or dropping something off at UPS.

At the beginning of each week, usually on Monday, I archive the previous weekā€™s list and carry it over to the current. Thatā€™s when I start removing and populating tasks for the week.

Over time, Iā€™ve noticed that:

  • Mondays are medium workload days as I ease back into the week

  • Tuesdays and Wednesdays are the days I get the most done

  • Thursdays are another medium-ish day, and

  • Fridays are typically light after completing the key stuff earlier in the week while winding down for the weekend

Every day is an exquisite blend of work-related tasks, writing, and personal stuff. Itā€™s always been a struggle to find a system that can handle everything in one spot, but my ā€œhappily ever afterā€ does the trick.

Also, Iā€™m pretty flexible in how I manage my tasks. If I feel like I overbooked a day, Iā€™ll just move it to another day later in the week or stage it for the following week. If a day is too light or something unexpected pops up, Iā€™ll slot it in. Itā€™s not a huge deal.

Itā€™s kind of crazy how much Iā€™ve learned about myself while searching for my productivity soulmate over the last decade. Pretty happy that now I know what gets me going, and I can lean into what works.

iii) Parking Lot Items

The final section of my Notion weekly tracker is essentially an ever-growing list of tasks. Itā€™s a catch-all for anything and everything that I may or may not eventually want to do.

If something pops into my head, I write it down on the Parking Lot. I might pencil it into the current week, the week after, or 6 months down the line.

The Parking Lot is great for:

  1. Never forgetting all the things I want to do

  2. Being a buffet of actions that I can pick and choose from

So far, my Parking Lot hasnā€™t gotten too far away from me. New tasks pop up all the time, but Iā€™m also knocking them out at a decent clip. Anytime it starts to get too crowded, I just spend an afternoon cleaning up the quick but annoying tasks Iā€™ve been procrastinating on.

3. We Agree That Calendars Are ā€˜Mehā€™ but Necessary

These days everyone carries around some sort of baggageā€Šā€”ā€Ša crazy ex, divorce, kids, debt, or you know, a calendar.

A calendar is the one thing Iā€™ve learned to accept as a necessary evil in every productivity system. But I mean, letā€™s be real. Thereā€™s literally no other option for scheduling meetings and appointments.

Google Calendar is what I use for everything. Itā€™s synced with my work meetings, appointments, events, and family things.

In the past, I tried scheduling tasks into my calendar so that I knew what to work on and when. But turns out Iā€™m just not very good at following a plan with that much structure.

Today, 99% of my tasks donā€™t make it to my calendar. I know the important stuff I need to do thanks to my Notion priorities, and I just work around the various meetings and appointments I have on any given day.

Mornings (immediately after coffee) tend to be when I do my best work, so I do everything I can to schedule the bulk of my meetings in the afternoon. This way I finish all of the important actions first, then cruise through the rest of the day without the burden of unfinished business. Obviously, not every day works out perfectly, but this is what I shoot for.

As a side note, since I donā€™t have Facebook, my Google Calendar is the ā€œtrickā€ I use for remembering birthdays. It feels more special when someone reaches out and you know they arenā€™t just doing so because Facebook reminded them.

Letā€™s Wrap This Up

I feel like Iā€™d regret not ending this with a cliche, so here it goes.

She may not be perfect, but sheā€™s perfect for me.

I will say thoughā€Šā€”ā€Šsheā€™s pretty damn close to perfection. After all, thereā€™s really not much more to optimize when youā€™re only spending 5ā€“10 minutes each week planning and prioritizing.

You might laugh, but before I found my ā€œhappily ever afterā€, Iā€™d bet money that I spent more time optimizing my productivity than actually producing. Now, Iā€™m spending peanuts and getting backā€¦way bigger nuts.

Hopefully one day youā€™ll find the same.

Best,

Jason